Legal question on photographing vehicles

Vmann

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.vmannimaging.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I havent been on here in a long time but I need some help with a legal question. Before I contact a lawyer and have to spend 50 plus to get something answered in thirtys seconds. I was hoping some one on here might have some insight.

Im a graphic designer by trade and recently designed a vehicle advertising wrap on a truck. The place I worked for won't let me use any photos I used while under there employment. I tried getting hold of the owner to see if he minds if I get some photos of his vehicle to include on some of my website/portfolio. The problem is there realistically is alot of projects I have done like this and getting a hold of every company head to garner permission to shot the vehicles is time consuming or I get the brush off. My question is if I where to drive by where the vehicle is parked in public view. Do I have the right to photograph the vehicle and use it for my own pupose of showing my designs to potential clients/employers.

Thanks in advance.

PS if there is a better place for this to be posted, please have a mod or admin move it.

I would think that if it's in public, then you are OK. I may be wrong, but I don't think there is any restriction if you are just using the image for your personal portfolio...because you aren't actually selling the image.

As always, I'm not a lawyer, so don't take my advice as such. Maybe you could call some professional photographers...maybe at a newspaper. They might have a good answer for you.

might be an idea to blank out/blur the registration number to prevent anyone identifying the car as theirs

I think you need to take advice. Did you sign a confidentiality agreement with your previous employer? This may not be as easy as it sounds......

i think if the vehicle is on the public highway you can photograph it no problem with a couple of conditions.