Legal Question

idrivea9

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello,

I have been a staff magazine photographer for 9magazine since 2001. Most of my work are cars, and use a pretty standard release that the owners sign before I shoot.

I love courthouses and have been traveling around my state photographing them for pleasure. However, I was thinking about turning the photos into a book or calendar to help make a few bucks during these hard times.

My question is, do I need to have a release for the country courthouses, or because they are state/government property is the release waved?

Thanks,

Brian

No release is necessary. They are public buildings in a public place.

skieur

Now I am not a lawyer nor do I play one, but from my discussions with my attorney, here is what I have been told.

Under some circumstances, a trademarked building may be photographed as long as the images are true to the structure.
Example, the Golden Gate Bridge is trademarked and copyrighted. As long as I do not alter the image of the bridge to depict something it is not I am fine. If I photoshop the bridge into a scene of NY city and used it for commercial purposes, there may be an issue. If I broke the bridge up into a handful of pieces and again used it commercially, there could be a problem.

If the buildings in question are owned privately, 99% of the time they will not be trademarked. There are exceptions like the Magic Kingdom at Disney, the TransAmerica Building, The Chrysler Building, and other major landmarks. Images taken of these buildings and used for commercial work may cause the person trouble, depending on the use.

There are even less commercial buildings owned by the government that are trademarked. The vast majority of the time, if the image is used for commercial projects, the image has to reflect the building in the correct way.