Lens filter and extension tube on ebay

Charles89

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So Im really on a tight budget these days as Im a college student and I want to travel this summer.

Im planning on buying :
This filter and the 52mm version
TIANYA 67mm 67 mm UV Ultra-Violet Filter Lens Protector - eBay (item 270488082702 end time Feb-18-10 01:39:36 PST)

And this extension tube for my old kit len 18-55mm as I replaced it with a Tamron f2.8 17-50mm

Macro Extension Tube Ring For CANON 450D XSi 400D XTi - eBay (item 270338317518 end time Feb-26-10 01:57:46 PST)

I was wondering if those would be soo cheap that they will distort my photos (the filters)

And if the tube would really make my len go macro ?

Im also planning on buying the 50mmf1.8 from Canon Ive heard go reviews for the price !

What do you guys think ?

As an eBay Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
The filter is very cheap. It's probably to use the technical term what is called a "crap filter", which takes a normal lens and turns it into... well...you know.
I would have as much faith in a 20 year old, used pawnshop Tiffen or Hoya HMC as with that $5 filter from offshore.

The extension tubes....oh boy...forum member Overread is probably asleep right now OR just about to wake up..he did a post on those el-cheapo eBay extension tubes and how they offer no lens aperture control on Canon lenses and bodies. There *is* a short-temp, temporary kludge, but those tubes do not have any electronic contacts in them to control the lens aperture--and so that is why they are so,so,so cheap. They're not just inexpensive--they are cheap too.

I would honestly never suggest anybody buy that type of tube for a Canon system. Something like a 12 or 13mm single tube from Kenko, or the inexpensive AF tubes sold by Adorama make much more sense. I am hoping Overread will see your post and reply, since he's a Canon macro fan.