Lens Hood Brand... Does It REEEEEALLY Matter?

Pharaoh41282

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I was wondering if there is a "good" lens hood or a "bad" lens hood. I'm brand new to photography (just bought a T3i), and I'll be taking most of my pictures outdoors on sunny days, and I live in the desert. Is there a huge difference in the photo quality of the Canon $40 lens hood and the eBay $5 one? I'm a pretty careful person, so I'm not worried that it'll shatter if I drop it (even so, it's $5). I wonder if the brand name hoods have special materials that do the trick, and the eBay ones are shiny plastic that exacerbate the issue. I don't have a good shop near me to really have a close look, so I'm asking here first.
I also plan to spend more money on quality lenses and accessories if I find that I want to continue shooting into the distant future.

Thanks!

A five dollar hood is better than nothing.

Be aware that zoom lenses and primes lenses have a different shaped hood. Zooms have a petal shaped hood while primes have a solid hood. The higher quality lenses "should" come with a hood in the package.

On a similar note, I always use a lens hood rather than a filter for protection of the front element. That and some common sense will get you further down the road.

Thanks! The bundle I ordered came with 2 zoom lenses, 18-55 and 70-300, and have the same diameter. I figured I'd pick up a cheap hood (for now) and start shooting.

Hoods are great for more than protecting the front element. They keep stray light (sun or strobed light) from producing lens flare. As I mentioned, a $5 hood is better than nothing. Just make sure that the lenses you ordered don't already have them in the package before ordering something you don't need. Ben said it best.... a penny saved is a penny earned.