Lens hood choices...

seekcreative

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Whats the skinny on the difference between a tulip lens hood and a traditional full hood? I am sure there is a simple, logical reason and being a noob, I would like to be educated :)

Whats the skinny on the difference between a tulip lens hood and a traditional full hood? I am sure there is a simple, logical reason and being a noob, I would like to be educated :)

"tulip" hoods are for lenses with non rotating front elements (when either focusing or zooming). Full hoods are for lenses with front elements that rotate.

Pretty much, just use the hood that comes with your lens.

p!nK

Pink layed it out pretty good. Full hoods can cause vignetting on some lenses, so they need pedal-type hoods. Always use whichever one is made for that particular lens.

pros use pedal shaped hoods, thats how you can tell they are pros.

p!nK

Whats the skinny on the difference between a tulip lens hood and a traditional full hood? I am sure there is a simple, logical reason and being a noob, I would like to be educated
The camera records an image that is rectangular, but the lens is round. A petal shaped hood covers the most area, without intruding into the image (which would cause vignetting). When you put a rectangle into a circle, the corners are where the interference would first occur, so that is where the 'cut outs' in the hood are, which gives us the petal shape.

Whats the skinny on the difference between a tulip lens hood and a traditional full hood? I am sure there is a simple, logical reason and being a noob, I would like to be educated