Lens suggestion for Sony A65

LisaG

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi,
I am new to DSLR and am trying to find the best type of lens for portraits and family photos that creates a good blur effect .

I have three lenses from my old old Minolta Maxxum camera

Thanks,
Lisa
Thanks,
Lisa

I have the Minolta 50mm 1.7. It's a great lens and adds some great blur. Picked it up on amazon for $80 in mint condition with free shipping and its perfect for portraits. :)

http://www.amazon.com/Minolta-AF-Le...d=1353547895&sr=8-1&keywords=minolta+50mm+1.7
And due to our crop sensor, the 50mm is pretty zoomed, here's a sony one that has a pretty wide field of view http://www.amazon.com/Sony-SAL30M28...=1353547974&sr=8-7&keywords=minolta+35mm+lens

And here is a Sony 50mm 1.8 that is pretty cheap, although I read reviews that the Minolta 1.7 outperforms the Sony version. --> http://www.amazon.com/Sony-50mm-Alp...=UTF8&qid=1353548143&sr=1-1&keywords=sony+1.8

And if you have the cash, sigma offers a pretty good prime too --> http://www.amazon.com/Sigma-50mm-EX...1353548041&sr=8-4&keywords=sigma+1.4+for+sony --Just watch out for that 77mm filter size, it may ressemble a small cannon. Lol.

In the end, I like my 50mm but it actually ressembles an 80mm effect on a crop sensor body. I wish I would have gone with the 35mm or 30mm and that would more closely ressemble a "true 50mm" length. Either way all of these lenses are great for portraits and can produce alot of "blur".

-Alex

Last edited:
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
These are the lenses that I have:

Minolta Maxxum 35-80mm AF Zoom 1:4(22)-5.6

Promaster spectrum f=70-210 1:4~5.6

Minolta maxxum 50mm 1:1.7