Lens Trouble?

bschneider5

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I was taking pictures last night, everything was OK until I switched to my Nikon DX AF-S 55-200 1:4-5.6G ED lens. I found that the autofocus will not work. I took it off, put it back on and tried it on my neice's camera (D40) and it will not work on her camera either.

I'm a bit of a beginner so I don't think I have settings wrong. Especially since my 18-55mm lens works fine. I haven't dropped the lens or anything. Any ideas on what the problem might be?

Sounds like it could be a lens problem. Do other lenses work OK on those cameras?

Sounds like it could be a lens problem. Do other lenses work OK on those cameras?
Yes, other lenses work with the camera. Nothing seems to be rattling around or anything. I guess I need to see about getting it repaired. I have only had it for about 6 months, I suppose there is a warranty for this?

Yes, other lenses work with the camera. Nothing seems to be rattling around or anything. I guess I need to see about getting it repaired. I have only had it for about 6 months, I suppose there is a warranty for this?
It should, but before you pack it up, try cleaning the contacts on the rear of the lens with a pencil eraser.

It should, but before you pack it up, try cleaning the contacts on the rear of the lens with a pencil eraser.

Try this, and also check the switch, it might be stuck, flip it back and forth a few times.

I did the eraser trick, no difference. Also exercised the switch. I never noticed it before, but when rotating the barrel, there seems to be an increase in resistance as I zoom in further. Is this normal?

Should be a warranty, but it depends on if you bought it new, used, grey market, etc... I just looked at B&H and they list a 5 year warranty for that lens.

Thanks guys for the input. I boxed it up, will be sent to the repair facility tomorrow.

I assume you mean return it for warranty repairs?