lenses/attachments for Rebel T2i... started with the 50mm

jasonbrianmerrill

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi!

<---it's correct, im a total noob

someone had suggested me to start out with this 50mm portrait lens - probably so I could take pictures of my gf's art... and start out simple.

However, I eventually want to do landscapes, pictures that have a bit more depth of field when it comes to focusing (It would be nice to get more than one person in the shot hehe) and macro photos, and I don't want to spend a ton of money. I am looking at a few things at the moment, such as this:

Amazon.com: Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS Telephoto Zoom Lens for Canon Digital SLR Cameras: Camera & Photo

and the 18-55mm that comes with the typical kit.

I am somewhat at a loss for this and a hotshoe flash. I really don't know much :(

any help would be greatly appreciated.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
I also have a T2i, and I also got the 50mm lense to start with....

After that I decided to get the 28-135mm EF, which are very easy to find used since they are the kit lense with the 7D

The best thing you could do is pick up a book and read it, I actually got the book "Canon 550D (T2i) for dummies" and it not only introduced me to my camera, but also to digital photography. Another thing you can do is just look around the internet for articles about a certain subject youre confused on, that has always helped me. Whenever you cant find anything about a subject? Ask here, theres plenty of people here willing to help. Just one more thought, if youre looking into a lens check the fourm to see if there is a thread about it. Hope that part helped and as far as lenses go a price range would help considerably since everyones definition of "a ton of money" is varied.

looking to spend about 200-400 per lens.