street84

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
hi, im new in this forum..
currently i own a Canon EOS 500D with EF-S 18-200mm f3.5-5.6 IS
im thinking of buying a new lens, and this is what i want to ask
option 1; canon EF 17-40mm f.4 L USM(ultra wide angle)
option 2; canon EF-S 10-22mm f3.5-4.5 USM (ultra wide angle)
option 3; canon EF 20mm f2.8 USM + canon EF 50mm f2.5 macro
all three option cost about the same.
im quite new to photography, but i go out a lot to experiment with
manual photo shooting, at least once or twice a week.
which option you think will be the best ?
thank you very much

It depends what you want/need. The lens you mentioned differ a lot, which means different applications.

vital question:
- what do u want to shoot? landscape? portraits? action?
- check also your previous pics and note what focal length u use most ...

thx for the reply, apparently i just found out that both 17-40 and 20mm doesn't work as ultra wide lens on crop body like my 500D, so ill just go with the 10-22.
since i live in Seoul, there's a lot of mountains here, so landscape and buildings probably what i want to shoot using ultra wide lens.
thx again

thx for the reply, apparently i just found out that both 17-40 and 20mm doesn't work as ultra wide lens on crop body like my 500D, so ill just go with the 10-22.
since i live in Seoul, there's a lot of mountains here, so landscape and buildings probably what i want to shoot using ultra wide lens.
thx again

The lenses physically fit on the body and can be used. However, due to the 1.6x crop factor, a 17mm lens has an effective focal lenght of 27mm
I personally like a focal lenght of about 26mm for landscapes. I do prefer much wider when I shoot urban and buildings though.
Your best bet is the 10-22mm