Lenses for Hasselblad 501

wishbone_17

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I have a Hasselblad 501 6x6 camera. I own 3 film backs and a 50mm lens. I am looking to purchase another lens and wanted some feedback on what everyone reccommends. I am primarily a fine art/photojournalism photographer, with the occasional dip into album cover art and promotional photography for musicians. I hope this is enough info for you. If not, let me know and we will fix that. Thanks.

You might want to have a 150mm in your arsenal, great performer when it comes to portraits. The 50mm is a WA and it can distort when used for portraits.

Outside of the 50mm Distagon lens I have the 80mm, the 150mm and the 250mm. I find I use the most the 80mm and the 50mm.

What websites do you suggest I look at to find a good 150mm lens? I see some on B&H but I want to be able to compare prices.

hardly use my Hasselblad and when I do it mostly for landscape, have both the 50mm and 80mm lenses but mostly use the 50mm

try ebay, keh and b&h

Jeff is right. Try E-bay and do a search on the 150mm lenses (past sales) to see the prices. I was able to snag one (black) for just under $300 but they're usually more than that. Expect a good $400-500 on Ebay for a good 150mm lens.

Jeff is right. Try E-bay and do a search on the 150mm lenses (past sales) to see the prices. I was able to snag one (black) for just under $300 but they're usually more than that. Expect a good $400-500 on Ebay for a good 150mm lens.
I dont own a hasselblad but I was pricing what a body and a couple of lenses would cost. Nearly all of the lenses for sale on keh were in the thousands. Is something 400-500 bucks much lower quality, because that wouldnt be too bad. Thousands is just not affordable for me, great optics or not.