Licensing Help Needed

RawHope

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello, I could REALLY use some help...

I've been dealing with an art consultant that wants to use a couple of my images in a new hotel project. I need to sell her the license rights because she will be having them printed through her lab, I won't be using mine. I've never done this before and am SO clueless as to what kind of license to choose. Is it Rights Managed? I have newbie questions and am really hoping someone can help me...

1) How in the world do I create a license?? Do I print something online and fill it out and then send it to the art consultant to sign?

2) I want to specify in the license that she can only print the images for this job. Is there a name for this type of license?

3) I'm assuming in a license, that you set an expiration date where they cannot make prints after a certain date. What's the normal length for a job like this? A couple months? 6 months? A year?

4) How do I price things? Is it per print or a range of a number of prints??

This "license" thing intimidates me but it's something I need to learn so I can sell my work this way. Can someone please set my mind at ease over this? I want to make sure I do it the right way. Really hoping one or more of you can answer my questions.

Thank you!
Carolyn

Thank you so much CCericola! That looks like a great form, I think I'll use it. Thanks! :D

You just write it up:

This agreement is between ____ (Licensee) and _____ (Licensor). Licensor agrees to grant a license to Licensee for the following terms:
1. Licensee may make prints of supplied contents at sizes up to XxY for display in ____ facility.
2. Above printing rights expire in 30 days. Prints may be displayed perpetually.
3. No other usage rights are granted to licensee.

The cost per license, per file is $____, payable prior to delivery of content on cd.

Signed ____________
Signed ____________
Date __________