Light Meters

droyz2000

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I have been working at a photo studio for about 3 months. I would say that it is a step up from JC Penny's or similar but it is no where close to a private studio in terms of quality. While I have been there, not once have I seen or been able to use a light meter, which can make for some crappy shots. I was wondering it is common practice in studios to not use a light meter and just use the screen on the back of the camera to see if your lighting is good?

they probably never even change their exposure unless the background changes...
and the settings are probably written down on a card somewhere.

You may think that and while that is a good idea, they do not have anything written down. We are told that 1/60 and F11 are what we are to shoot at all the time and just adjust the lights to fit those specs. I have started to shoot and am left taking a picture looking at it on the camera and trying to adjust my lights so that I get the correct exposure for 60 and 11. Because the screen is so small it is difficult to tall how off the lights can be.

If nothing changes, as far as position of the subject and lights...there would be little need to change the exposure settings.

I have a light meter, I use it to get a base reading when I set up my lights...but after a few test shot, I just use the LCD screen to see what I'm getting and adjust accordingly. Note that I don't necessarily use the image to evaluate...I use the histogram.

I've used the histogram here and there to see where to make minor changes, but since I have started to practice more with studio strobes, I've come to better know and understand the kind of histogram that I can associate with a properly exposed pic as I see it in the camera's LCD.

Another vote for the histogram and LCD method.