Lighting, Background and Lens Question

sj022698

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am looking to do a book that will have somewhat portrait shots. It will be done in my kitchen. I want to do a solid white background. Can I used standard vinyl from a sign shop?

Also, when it comes to lighting, can anyone give me some direction into finding an inexpensive way to light these. I will only be using about 30 pictures. All with the white background. I am not a professional but wanting to get some quality photos for my project.

I have a Canon Digital Rebal.
Should I be using a polarized lens on this project?

I appreciate the help!

Thanks,
Justin

Welcome to the forum.

You can use just about anything for a white background...the key is getting more light onto the background than onto your subject.

You won't need a polarizing filter for this, although it might help to cut down on reflections if you have them.

As for lighting, there are any number of ways to light a portrait. Check Amazon, your local book store or your local library. There have been many books and lighting is dependant on digital or film, so older books are OK too.

Whatever you do, remember that you will need extra light on the backdrop to make it white. Also, if you don't get it just right...it should be fairly easy to fix with a program like Photoshop etc.

Thanks for the warm welcome and the help.

I've been reading tons on lighting and I feel I'm even more confused now.

If you were to be putting up a 10'x10' white backdrop, how much lighting would you advise. I can always use my photoshop but would prefer not to have to do too much to it.

Since this will be a short project and I will not be using the equipment afterwards, I don't want to sink too much money into it. I was looking at several on ebay. Some were 2 lights, 3 lights, 4 lights, umbrellas, no unbrellas.