Lighting for DIY Videos

volpfuss

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi forumZ :)

I am not a photographer whatsoever, but I have a lighting question and thought, who better to ask but those who actually know what they are doing, lol. So I found this forum and am hoping someone can help me.

I am a business owner who makes some homemade/DIY videos from time to time for business purposes. Sometimes it's to screencapture myself talking to clients. Sometimes it's to film myself conducting a webconference. Just various business reasons and situations.

When I am sitting in front of my computer and doing a screencapture, I use my Logitech webcam. Other times I use my Kodak Zi8 or Flip video camera such as when I am standing against a wall, backdrop or greenscreen. None of these has flash capabilities.

I would like to know what kind of inexpensive or DIY lighting equipment I should get or make for both of these kind of scenarios.

For example, when I am using my webcam, I am using two Ikea lamps with a 60 watt daylight bulb in each and standing those on each side of the computer screen. This works okay to get even lighting without overwhelming the exposure capabilities of the webcame, but I was wondering if anyone has any other recommendations. Ideally, I would love to get the same kind of lighting effect I get when I go (don't laugh) to the Nordstrom's restroom and look in the mirror. I have no idea what kind of lights they use, but each mirror abovce the sink is surrounded by these bulbs and you get no shadows and it just makes anyone look gorgeous.