Lighting for long, thin objects

Flintlock

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm using my Canon 500D (Rebel T1i) and Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM lens for museum photography of old firearms. Muskets with bayonets are long and thin, from 60 to 80" long which require me to set up the camera 5–6 yards from the object. My method is to hang the objects by means of a fishing line. I've previously used natural light for these shots, but now I have acquired two Elinchrom D-Lite 4 flash heads with softboxes, but I have no previous experience with flash. My question is: How do I place the strobes in order to avoid glare on the metal and get consistent lighting on the object? Any input is appreciated.

Here's a picture of what I' trying to achieve, shot using the daylight method.
$641016_1024x768.jpg

I'd suggest the book 'Light: Science & Magic'. It can teach you the principles of how light reflects off of objects, and thus how to light things.

The problem with using smaller light sources, is that they will cause small specular highlight reflections if your subject has properties of 'direct reflection' and if the light is within the 'family of angles'. With a rounded subject like this, it's hard or impossible to avoid those reflections because you can't find a location that is outside the family of angles. So the trick then becomes trying to manage the reflections so that they look good.
Part of that is often to use a large light source. That way, the reflection/highlight isn't s small ugly spot, but a bigger/longer highlight that looks better in a photo. For example, when shooting wine bottles, a great technique is to use a tall skinny light source (strip box or just a regular softbox covered but for a strip).