Lightroom brush tool

Devinhullphoto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
How many people use the brush tool frequently? I just started using it and I'm really liking it a lot.

jwbryson1

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Photos OK to edit
Deleted because of personal stupidity. I misread the OP's post...

:banghead:

Big Mike

I am Big, I am Mike
Staff member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Website
www.mikehodson.ca
Photos NOT OK to edit
Certainly a great tool...and it's the one that that can most often save you from having to port the image over to Photoshop (or whatever program) and back,

Big Mike

I am Big, I am Mike
Staff member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Website
www.mikehodson.ca
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm a NOOB at PS and have been doing a lot of work lately with CS6.

What does each of you use the brush tool for?
They are talking about the 'Adjustment brush' in Lightroom. It allows you to choose from several different 'sliders' to get a specific effect, and paint/brush that effect onto the image. For example, if you wanted increase the exposure of your subjects, without affecting the background, you could set a positive value on the exposure slider and just paint that onto your subjects.

The tool also has an 'Auto Mask' option, so you don't have to be super precise with your brushing...but it's not perfect and does require cleaning up sometimes.

A cool thing about it, is that once the area has been 'brushed', you can completely change the effect of the brush. For example, I will often set the exposure to -4, basically painting an area black, just so that I can see where I'm painting. Then I'll change the exposure to where I want it (maybe back to zero) and dial in the settings that I do want; saturation, sharpness, white balance etc.

With it's masking feature and ability to use multiple and separate adjustments, it gets close to simulating layers...which is the strength of Photoshop CS/Elements etc.

OP
Devinhullphoto