Live Music Photography Camera

McBeer

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey.

Im totally new to photography, but have always wanted to get into it.

Im looking to get in to taking photographs for local live music events where I live. However I dont even have a camera.

Im looking to get a camera to start me off, but I dont want to spend too much. Im looking to spend around £100-£200 maximum. I know this isnt a lot but I dont have an income since I'm at college.

Is there any reccomendations that would be a good starter camera for live music?

Casio makes a nice camera for that price range. It's called the Exilim. It's a compact camera but it has many features of a higher priced model such as full manual control, apeture priority and shutter priority. Here's a [ame="http://www.amazon.co.uk/Casio-Exilim-EX-Z120-Digital-Camera/dp/B000AYDQNO/sr=11-1/qid=1163339393/ref=sr_11_1/202-5915266-1763014"]link[/ame] to the model I'm currently using. You could also try a film slr which can be picked up for a song these days.

Film or digital? Are these stadium events or small clubs?
If it's a small club, I would say that film would be your best choice. Most cheap digital cameras don't handle low light well. I'd get a basic film camera and a couple of prime lenses so that you can use wide apertures.

/\
|| What they said :)

Best choice IMO is to get yourself a 35mm film camera - it doesn't even need to be an older manual camera; these days you could easily pick up a good modern autofocus model and lens within your price range. In terms of lenses, go for a 50mm f/1.7 or 1.8. Then buy yourself some 3200 ISO black and white or 1600 ISO colour film and you're ready to go.

Sorry I forgot to mention this.

I need it to be a digital camera as the pictures would most likely be for internet use, and scanning the pictures to the PC loses a lot of quality in my opinion.