LouisRG

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.louisrg.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Here's what I normally do...
1. Put roll in and pull across the film to the spool on other side.
2. Make sure it's hooked on the spool and advance. Press down the rewind knob so the film is in place.
--- If the door is still open at this stage and I press the shutter, will that ruin the film? As you can tell, I'm a complete novice, but I don't want to ruin too many rolls.

People I've been around have told me that if the door is open when you press the shutter to expose the film then it ruins it. Is that the case?

No. The shutter is exposing the part of the film between the canister and the take-up reel. You've already exposed that to light when you pulled it out of the spool.

Now, if you open the door after you've shot, you will likely mess up the shots you've taken, but not what is in the canister (35mm - I can't say about larger formats)..

Last edited:
No. The shutter is exposing the part of the film between the canister and the take-up reel. You've already exposed that to light when you pulled it out of the spool.

Now, if you open the door after you've shot, you will likely mess up the shots you've taken, but not what is in the canister (35mm - I can't say about larger formats)..
Yeah that's fine, thanks a lot. I'm using 35mm and I did think that it ruined the whole lot, even what's in the canister.