Looking for a critique

Nsp1red

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am slowly due to my full time job working on my photography skills. I really enjoy it but I have huge times between my shoots. I was taking some pictures of my wife yesterday and would appreciate any and all assistance in helping me improve. I have a Nikon D200, both shots were taken with a 70-200 Nikon lens. I have 3 continuous lights (2 with square soft boxes, one without). I had the lighting setup where one soft box was at a 45 degree to her left putting light directly at her. A second soft box was at the opposite 45 to her but pointed directly behind her to just pick up a little light since both soft boxes have 500W bulbs. The last light is just an accent light on the back drop.

Are there any other details that you need to help me?

I think one place I need help is the posing...I am not very good at that part. :)

These pictures were edited in post but not really that far off from the originals.

Thank you so much for taking the time to look at the pictures and giving me feedback.

-Brandon

Attachments

• Michelle 14.11.27.jpg
    Michelle 14.11.27.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 188
  • Michelle 14.11.27-2.jpg
    Michelle 14.11.27-2.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 188
Not bad at all. In the first, I think you could have refined it just a tad by pulling your key light a little further camera right, and reducing the exposure slightly, maybe 1/3 - 1/2 stop as the highlights on her forehead are just a tad hot. Nothing major however. #2 on the other hand seems ever so slightly under-exposed to me. When posing, especially ladies, don't forget the all important "Chin out, chin down" direction. While it's not an issue here in terms of double-chins, it does add a (IMO) more pleasing angle to the face.