Looking for a Film Camera

Primarilyk1000

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey, first post and it's a "need a camera" one but I want one:(.

I bought a k1000 on ebay and it works most of the time but some setting mess up the whole camera and the pictures come out dark. So, I recently started looking on ebay and amazon but all i get are new cameras. Not to disrescpect anyone's opinon, but I don't like new cameras, esp digitals. I know there are other cameras from the 70s but I would like recommendations from you guys.

Also, I found the canon eos 300 and was considering it since it's cheap. my grudge against it is that it's light weight and plastic. The reason I like the older cameras is because I like the weight and knowing i can use the camera as a weapon if i need to:D

money is a factor, i was thinking of spending $1-$175. i'm a beginner but I catch on quick so just throw any camera that you think is good.

How about a K1000 from a reputable dealer willing to work with you if there's a problem? K1000 is a great film camera... a bit basic but has everything one needs to create great photos. I like mine... How about a newer K-mount such as a Pentax MX or ME super? Another great metal bodied camera I enjoyed in the past is a Canon AE-1. Lots of FD lenses out there too. All have the metal and weight you seem to like.

I primarily use Nikon's ( film ) but recently got a Canon F1 w/ 50mm 1.4 lens for $150.00. I found a 70-210 Canon FD for $52.00, so I have a car camera that to me is disposable. You can find Nikon FE's with a lens or two everyday for less than $150.00, or even FM's. I really don't know about what other early Canon model's that are not plastic, I guess AE-1's from the previous post. FD lens' are certainly cheap and easy to find. I have always had Nikon's, and like the backwards compatibility with their lenses. My newest body is a 1988 F4, and I don't really use the features that it has, but they are tough. I would not rule out Olympus either ( OM-1, OM-2 )