Looking for a good telephoto zoom for Canon EOS 5DMKII

klinic

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Just what it says in the title. Looking to build my kit now that I've gotten into photography. Despite being a beginner, I've landed myself a very nice body. I'm now looking to build my kit to compliment it. Currently have a very terrible 28-80 from my old EOS100.

Ideally this lens will compliment a 17-40mm for landscapes, and an 85mm prime. This will be used for portraits, wildlife photography and possibly some street photography, although I may want a smaller less conspicuous zoom for that.

Considering the Tamron 70-200 SP AF f/2.8 Di LD (IF) Macro, Sigma 70-200 f2.8 APO EX DG OS HSM and the
Cano EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM.

I could consider the Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS II USM, but it significantly more expensive, how much nicer is it considered to be in general? Image Stabilisation is a big plus at that long a focal length.

Thanks for taking the time to make some suggestions.

Last edited:
the canon IS IMO is not worth the extra money, I do have the Canon 70 - 200 F2.8 and love it, if i need a steady photo I just use a tripod

I found IS worth every penny.... still not a replacement for a tripod but a heck better in times when a tripod may not be practical.

my num 1 choice in you situation would be a used Canon 70-200mm f2.8 IS (1st gen.. I shot with one.. great lens). My 2nd choice would be the Tamron 70-200mm f2.8.

Considering the Tamron 70-200 SP AF f/2.8 Di LD (IF) Macro, Sigma 70-200 f2.8 APO EX DG OS HSM and the Cano EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM.

I could consider the Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS II USM, but it significantly more expensive, how much nicer is it considered to be in general? Image Stabilisation is a big plus at that long a focal length.

Thanks for taking the time to make some suggestions.