Looking for advice for TFP/Raw issue.

deduceme221

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi-hi!

I'm a second year photo student and in order to build my portfolio I have recently started doing Time-for-Print shoots. I drew up a general mutual-release contract to use, and in it states that I will give x-amount of digital images (jpegs) with the most basic of correction, and 1 fully edited, high res digital file and print. I put in that any additional prints would cost x amount of money.

What I failed to consider was adding anything about raw files or the cost for additional high res digi images, and lo! my very first TFP shoot ended with the model asking for raw files (go figure- well at least I'm learning now). I know better than to give those away, but in the moment I panicked and said that photographers don't normally give raw files and if I were to do that, I'd have to charge an astronomical figure, and I explained why. I told her that she'd get what we'd agreed upon in the contract and then if she wants extras that we'd work it out then.

I've sent her the images and she's just emailed me back asking how much I would charge per image for raw files. I'm thinking I can convince her to take high res images instead. I guess I was hoping to get some over-all opinions here.

Thanks all,
Ash

Last edited:
What I failed to consider was adding anything about raw files or the cost for additional high res digi images, and lo! my very first TFP shoot ended with the model asking for raw files (go figure- well at least I'm learning now). I know better than to give those away, but in the moment I panicked and said that photographers don't normally give raw files and if I were to do that, I'd have to charge an astronomical figure, and I explained why. I told her that she'd get what we'd agreed upon in the contract and then if she wants extras that we'd work it out then.