Looking for advice on lighting!

MelissaP

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey! This is my first thread, thought I'd give it a go. I am new in the photography world. I've recently purchased a DSLR with an external flash. I am looking for a few hints on what kind of portable lighting and reflectors I may need. I am hoping to do some in-home photography for some family and friends that may not have ideal lighting in their homes. Thanks:)

Last edited:
Welcome. You'll learn a lot of great things here. The easiest way to find info on here is to first use the search feature. KmH is one of the members and he has some great ideas on getting started with off camera lighting.

Thankyou MSnowy! I've taken your advice and have been reading up on other posts/threads. *I will search before I ask* =)

Welcome aboard. First, I'm going to move this thread out of the 'Digital' section, as this has nothing to do with digital.

The easiest way to improve your lighting with an accessory flash, is to point it somewhere other than right at your subject and bounce the light off of something. A very common technique is to bounce it off the ceiling, but you can also bounce it off walls or anything around you. By doing this, you are making the light softer and maybe giving it some directional qualities (as opposed to just shooting it directly at your subjects).

You can use reflectors to help add light to your subject. These work great whether you're using flash or not.

The next step to take, is getting the flash off the camera. By doing this, you can precisely place the light to get just the right lighting on your subject. Do do this, you may need a remote flash trigger, a light stand and an adapter to mount the flash on the stand. You may also want something like an umbrella or softbox, which will enlarge your light source, giving you softer light, which is often advantageous for portraits.