Looking for advice

MizzClix

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I've been lurking for quite sometime but this is my first post. I'm a highschool student (so please don't be too tough on me) I've been into photography for a few years, as a hobbyist of course. I'm always the designated photographer at family gatherings, birthdays, reunions, and I did my twin cousins senior pictures, etc. my cousin is getting married and asked me to shoot her wedding! She is having a professional photographer, and has got the ok from him for me to take pictures also. I really want to do a good job for her. I just received a canon t4i for my birthday last month (I do plan to upgrade if I ever decide to do this professionally) I have a 75-300, 18-55,55-250, and 50mm lens. I wish I could afford a 70-200, but unfortunately, I'll have to work with what I have.

Now, the questions I have...

I don't currently own a flash, I would like to buy the canon speedlight 580ex or even the 430, but again it probably wont be in my budget. Does anyone have any less expensive recommendations? The ceremony is in a church, that only allows flash during the processional and recessional, the reception is in a hotel ballroom.

I will be in charge of taking some group pictures in the morning (the hired photographer will not be there) I've noticed occasionally when I take photos of large groups, it will look ok on the screen, but once I transfer it to the computer not everyone one is in focus. Any tips to make sure this doesn't happen?

And lastly, she wants to try a picture where her and her groom are standing and there is a glow of a sparkler wrapped around them, an also another one where her and her groom are standing still in the center, and their bridal party are running in a circle around them and are blurred and the last one she would like just where you see the black silhouette of them. (these are three different pictures to be taken at different points during the day.