Looking for feedback: Sort your lightroom photos an Android. Or should that be iPad

luke.sleeman

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey,
I'm a software developer and amateur photographer. I think I have the same problem that many people do - to many photos and not enough time to organise them. I've been tossing around the idea of creating a (paid for) application for Android smart phones and tablets. The application would allow you to download a subset of your LR library, tag and flag photos on your phone, before uploading the metadata back to Lightroom. All final post processing an image manipulation would be done back in Lightroom.

What I want to know is; would anybody pay for such a thing? How much would you pay if it had the following features?

* A Plugin for Lightroom which allows you to export a subset of your photos on your phone/tablet
* An application for android which allows you to tag, rate, flag photos and add colour labels
* The android app will allow you to filter the photos on the phone by flag status, rating, and colour label
* The plugin for Lightroom would allow you to import back in the metadata changes you have made on your phone

I note that there is already an application out for ipads, costing $17, that allows you to do something very similar: Photosmith . Unfortunately, you need to import the photos directly from the camera into the ipad, before sending them into Lightroom. There is no way to get photos already in Lightroom and upload them to your tablet (though they say its coming soon).

I would like to use your feedback, to decide how to proceed. Would anybody pay if I created such an app? Does anybody even have android tablets and phones, or do you all want to use ipads? What features must I add? Is the above feature set enough?

- Luke