Looking for older dslr with video

Richard Hutchings

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'd really like to find a site with a list of 10 year old pro cameras. 10 megapixel is fine with me. I want a pro camera at 1 tent the price. Must shoot video. If you could just give me a few models worth looking at I would appreciate it very much.

Nikon d90. Canon 5d mk 2

Just something to bear in mind, autofocus has made real strides in the last few years. The first generation DSLRs that do video may have no autofocus at all, and the generation where 1080p finally became achievable might do it very poorly.

EDIT: If you're not set specifically on a DSLR, apparently MagicLantern is popular on the first generation EOS M, and it looks like those crazies might have even gotten 4K video out of the thing. I have no firsthand experience but I can't deny, if I find an EOS M really, really cheap I'll probably get it just to try it out.

You might get much better video from something that initially cost a lot less but is much newer, perhaps a Nikon D 3400. I don't know that there are many 10 year old professional cameras that shot video, and in fact the highest-end cameras typically did not offer video... for quite some time video was seen as a mid- and entry- level feature.

Wasn't the Canon 70D the first, at least Canon to have AF video. Not a pro camera but might be cheap.
The Canon 7Dmkll also had AF video. I used that a few times and it worked pretty well! They are in the $500 range and up. Again, not a pro camera but pretty good Semi-pro camera.
I think the Nikon D300s had video too and it's a full frame.
I'd use the Canon 5Dll that was mentioned. There's MORE after marked rigging for that camera than probably any other camera made and it's FF!!!
SS

Weird request, but okay.