Looking for opinions on a new computer

DreamPhotos

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
It has come time for me to upgrade my Mac. I am just getting into photography, although I've been using a dslr for years on auto programs. I've never done any editing other than in iphoto. I would like to learn Lightroom first and see how that goes. Are there any specific specs I should be looking at when choosing a new computer? I apologize ahead of time for such a general question. This would be a desktop computer, and not a laptop. I was considering a laptop for the portability factor, but prefer to stay with the desktops that I'm use to. I've also been reading that laptops are a little more difficult to edit on.

I would stay with Mac personally. I would never go back to PC. I've had a MacBook Pro 13" for three years now and it runs like it's almost brand new even with Photoshop, Bridge and Muse installed. The biggest things I've found for editing are;

1. Screen size. Big is better. Go with the 27" iMac if you can. I'm planning on upgrading, keeping most of my editing software on the iMac and having my MacBook Pro be for on-the-go and personal use (Read = classes. I'm still a college student.)

2. Ram. Make sure you have quite a bit of it. I have 4GB of Ram in my MacBook Pro and honestly 8GB would be much better. With Photoshop set to use 80-85% of available ram it runs like I want it to, but any other program I open is super slow. I have to quit my mail app before opening photoshop as mail seems to be the worst.

3. External hard drives aren't just for backing up! I keep the more important photos on both my external and my computer hard drive but also on a disc. Just transferring all of my personal work or older sessions on the external helps my MacBook run faster.