Looking for sub 500$ camera.. FUJI S5200?

Tuskir

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi guys, I'm a newbie looking to purchase a digital camera for under 500$. I have checked reviews, and it looks like Fuji Finepix S52000 is by far the best value. You can buy a new one for only 250$, and according to the reviews, it has a very high image quality (my top priority), 10x zoom, 5.1MP, and you can use different lenses. Please let me know what you think about this camera and if you have better suggestions.

Thanks,
Alex

Welcome to the forum.

If image quality is your top priority...I would go with a digital SLR camera. The big difference between a DLSR and most other digital cameras...is the size of the sensor...which is rather important to image quality. Also, those camera/lenses with 10X zoom are not made for great image quality...they are made more for convenience.

$500 is just about enough for the lowest priced DSLR cameras. Even if you stretch the budget a bit...a DSLR will be 10 times the camera that costs $400.

Check out the Canon Rebel XT, The Nikon D40 or D50, The Pentax K100D etc.

Thanks for the advice, Mike. Would these SLR cameras work like point and shoot digital cameras? I'm not looking for something professional, just something I could use on vocations and such that's not too complicated.

Yes...they can be used in full auto modes where all you have to do is 'point & shoot'. When you do decide that you want to do more than just 'point & shoot'...that's when you will be glad that you got a DSLR.