Looking to buy a Film Camera..but..

Sbuxo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.instagram.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello all, I'm a Freshman in college and and I've been longing to buy a 35mm Film Camera for awhile now. I do own a digital camera, the Canon Powershot SD750 and I love it. But like I said, I'm been looking into Film more, now especially since I'll be taking two photography classes in my next semester. I did take Photography I in High School but it was a half credit class, meaning half the time to learn and everything was squeezed in so I didn't really grasp how to adjust the aperture and use the light meter and such. But, I have been learning from online articles and photography books, all I need now is the camera. One thing. I'm very picky in choosing which one, and many things have started to confuse me. Amazon has great prices on great cameras, but I'm not sure which one to pick. I've been seeing SLRs and Completely Manual cameras, and really can't decide because of the different reviews I see. SLRs seem to have blur problems, and don't make crisp prints? Of course, I can't totally rely on reviews because those can differ from person to person, right?:confused:

Then, I'd like to know if any/all SLRs have the option of going completely manual? As in the ability of setting aperture & focus, and have a light meter? I hope I don't sound stupid asking this..-nervous laughter-.

The second (probably obvious/stupid) thing I'd like to know is can these cameras shoot in both B&W and Color? Or just B&W? When I took Photography I we used Leicas, but it was only B&W photography. Was this because of the film or the camera? I suppose the film, am I right?

Hmm..I'd also like to know what all of you think about the Canon Rebel Series in general. I'm attracted to the Canon EOS Rebel K2 35mm SLR w/ EF 28 to 90mm II USM but..again..the "blurry, bad color quality" reviews have set me back a little.