Looking to get my first real DSLR

The 5200 or 7100?

• Total voters

WhiteHorse

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi I'm new here,
I'm wanting to pick up photography as a new hobby. Gives me a reason to
Travel more and do hikes :1247:. I'll be using it for out door stuff, landscape, animals ect. and of course family pics.
I've narrowed it down to either the nikon D5200 or the nikon d7100. I would like to try and
Get away with the lower price one if it can take pics as good as the 7100. Im not worried about
Learning all the buttons and settings, I'm an engineer so tech stuff is my thing. Should something
Like the 7100 be only for those that are serious about photography? Would it be overkill for my purposes? Are there quality differences from the pictures taken from the 5200 and 7100?
Thank you so much for the advice!

There wont be any difference in the PICTURES from a D5200 and D7100, those two sensors are quite similar.

The difference is in features. Nikon tends to omit features, menus, and buttons at lower prices, and goes all out with them on higher prices.

For example D7100 has the Commander for controlling remote TTL flashes, and has FV Lock, and Mirror Lock up, etc. Pentaprism viewfinder instead of less expensive penta mirror. Viewfinder shows 100% instead of 95%. Programmable Function button and Depth of Field preview buttons. Has several more handy and convenient buttons outside, instead of diving into menus (things like ISO, WB, etc). And it has a better shutter, which generally is more the same than not, but faster, D7100 has 1/8000 speed, and 1/250 second flash sync, HSS sync, 6 frames/sec vs 5, and a little longer life expectancy. D7100 has 51 focus points in viewfinder instead of 39 (for action, but FWIW, I normally use Single Point focus however). There probably is more, but the answer is - the D7100 has it, and lesser models may not.