Looking to officially start my own business

sugarlilyphoto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello everyone! I'm new to the idea of starting my own photography business and I've got a name and everything picked out (Sugar Lily Photography) but I'm kind of stuck as to what I should charge for pricing (ie: sitting fees, prints, DVDs, digital copies, etc.). I dabble in a bit of everything from equine/horse show photos to kids to modeling. Here are two examples of my work. I chose an equine photo and modeling photo. Please let me know what you think! :)

riley.jpg

rachel.jpg

Uhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

oh boy!

Good luck on your adventure. There's certainly others who are less capable making $ as photographers. It's really going to depend on your business skills and determination because your photos above have zero merit, no offence. Seems like everyone with a camera wants to be pro without taking the time or energy to learn the art.

Going by your examples you will have to pay them, the most important part of a horse portrait is the ears like this
828319588_hT2Dq-L.jpg

Coming up with a name does not enable you to start a business. There is a lot more to it than that. Having good marketing skills, a sound business plan, and of course then technical skill. Just a heads up but this thread could get you roasted.

Do you think your actually ready to start a business? If so, why? Or are you actually in the planning/research stages. Because these are two entirely different things. From the photos you have posted I am going to suggest that you don't jump the guns and practice on building a solid portfolio. Then research business requirements in your state, area, create your business plan, fees etc for your market area and go from there.