Looking to replace my Nikon D1X. Suggestions?

jbench

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi. I'm a commercial product photographer (though business is soooo slow I can barely say that I am actually a photographer any more - but that's another topic). I have been shooting with a Nikon D1X tethered to my mac laptop. I use Nikon Capture Control to shoot my images, fully controlling my camera from the laptop (except focusing).

The quality of the images being produced from my Nikon D1x has gotten so bad that I have finally decided to get myself another one. I think I need to stay with Nikon as I have all Nikon lenses and I do not want to have to replace lenses. So, here is the feedback I'm looking for:

1 - Have the new Nikon cmos sensors gotten better so that they do not have any problems with blotches of green and red color or are they generally the same quality but just producing bigger images?

2 - Which Nikon DSLRs would have the features I'm looking for (see below)? I do not want to spend another $6000 for a camera body. I called a nearby store and they said the 7000 is a quality camera but there were issues with software being available that would allow me to to operate the camera, from my laptop.

some important features:
- Lighter than the D1X as I want to carry it around and take nature shots, etc. as well as using it in the studio. That D1X is a backbreaker!
- I want to activate the shutter of my camera using the laptop and have the image immediately appear in my laptop.
- be able to hook in a cable release for portraits
- be able to hook in a pro strobe pack
- be able to use menus to set up white balance,etc.
- manual override of course
- I really dislike the little pictures of flowers, mountains, etc. on the shutter ring (if you know what I mean) so the absence of those would be a plus.
I'm sure there are more - but I'm drawing a blank. You know - all the pro necessities!
thanks for your feedback