Looking to upgrade

RinaldiPhotos

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello,
Over the last three years I have been free lancing Minor league baseball with a T2i and have recently saved up enough money to upgrade to a better body and lens with my brother. Our budget for the body is about $1,700 and the lens is around $1,900, give or take a little.
I only shoot baseball in the summer and have little plans of shooting other sports unless a family friend needs some pictures for whatever reason. I am a free lance photographer, have two part time jobs and one full time job. I plan on using the new upgrade mainly in Summer.
I did some research and it looks like the 5DMarkII is obviously the better camera all around, but the 7D has been more highly recommended for sports.

I was wondering if anyone could help me out as to weather or not they have shot baseball or other similar sports with it. I understand it is a little slower, but the quality will be a lot better. I don't mind selective shooting during baseball games , I just wonder if it will be able to focus quick enough.

My predicament comes in here: I can buy a used 5dMarkII for just under $1500 with an actuation count of just under 14,000. I feel like this is a solid price, but I am very unsure because of my intended use. I assume that by getting the 5DMarkII, I would need a 200/2.8 to get the best shots possible.

If anyone can lend some personal experience, I would greatly appreciate it.

Go with either the 7D or the 70D for the body...much better AF system. While a full frame does handle high ISO much better unless you are shooting late into the night a crop sensor with a better AF system would serve you well.

^^agreed. There is rumor that the 7D Mark II is going to be announced in the first quarter of 2014. This could push the price down on the 7D. However, depending on the new technology in the Mark II, it may be worth it to get it.