Lowest cost B&W film photography?

Patm1313

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm not exactly new to photography, but I am new to film photography. I wanted to have a hand at film. The bad news is, I'm a little bit on the poor side. I would like to know how I can get the highest number of shots for my dollar.

Can somebody please give me some tips to keeping my film photography costs down? I was thinking things like processing my own negatives and scanning them. Any suggestions?

Just out of curiosity, how many exposures is 100 feet?

To the OP if you don't want to roll your own film, I suggest looking at freestylephoto.biz, they carry the cheapest films (arista) and occasionally have deals on expired film, which generally work just fine. Right now they have a pretty good film deal on their front page.

You can also check out ebay for deals on expired films.

The newly stocked Arista Premium at freestyle photo is the best of the cheapest... it's repackaged Kodak Tri-X actually. Employees confirmed it to me, in a roundabout kinda way.. without actually saying it...

Just out of curiosity, how many exposures is 100 feet?

A 36 exposure roll is just over 5 feet long. I find that I get 18 rolls from 100 feet.

On cost:

You can get 'short ends' of 35 mm movie film very cheaply (about 14 cents per foot in the USA), but short ends of B&W are fairly rare and in great demand. Colour film is much more readily available, but it needs to be procesed with a variation of C-41. It can be done at home. Anyway, the question is about B&W.

There is quite a large difference in developer cost from one to another. You can make your own developer from raw chemicals, but some developers, like Pyrocat HD, are very economical even when bought ready made. Diafine is another extremely economical developer, and it is easy to use. Many developers can be made by using cheap household chemicals for some or all of the components.