Macro Butterfly

bennyboy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I know it's been done to death but hey I'm still learning. What do you think :D

ButterflyEdit.jpg

Thanks for looking :mrgreen:

Photo looks good but you have alot of hotspots in the leaf and the butterfly. Next time you do a shot like this drop your flashes light output. (use a diffuser or set your flash to a differant parameter if possible. You got some great colors but lost them in a lot of places do to the light.

Yeah I'm a little disappointed with how it turned out. It looked quite good before I got it onto the screen. The worst part is no mount of PS will fix it.

There are some little tricks you can do with the adjustment layers. Make a selective color adjustment layer pick white and add the colors you want to fill the white for that area. And because its a adjustment layer it gives you a mask to work with so you can use this effect on differant spots . Just make a new Sel. Color layer for each spot that a differant color is needed and fill away.

Hope this works for you.

Cheers Viemann

I will definitely be giving that a go tonight.

I love this forum ;)

I think giving it a softer look might help too...looks really plasticky at the moment. Can't wait to see what you come up with :)

Your poor butterfly looks a little abused. I wonder about the direction of the light too, might work better from a more rearward angle to capture the angle his wings were sitting. That's a hard one to judge as your shooting though. :)

Yeah my poor butterfly has seen better days :(

Unfortunately this was the only angle available. I had to climb through a spider web and under a bush to get it :D

hay! that's a very good start :) just climb there again and take another shot :) hopefully your butterfly is still there :)

mentos_007 said:
hay! that's a very good start :) just climb there again and take another shot :) hopefully your butterfly is still there :)