Macro Cameras

BloodVersus

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I'm a complete noob but have been getting interested in getting a camera capable of macro shots. I was wondering what brands/models you would recommend?

What kind of macro photography were you considering? If you have links to examples of other work that you have seen that you would like to be able to emulate (at least at a techincal level) then do please link to them to give us an idea.
Otherwise without any specific ideas I would say go for any camera brand - Nikon, Canon, Olympus etc... all have good macro lenses and setups. Heck most point and shoot camera bodies can do very well with macro work so you don't nessessarily need to break the bank if your budget is limited.

Im interested with getting really close to the surfaces of objects to reveal textures or one thing I really look forward to is using staged lighting focused onto and through clear things like glass cups or crystals to see all the ways the light reflects inside all up close like.

I'd like to spend less than $500 if possible, and would also like if the camera could record video as I have some other ideas for that as well.

Im interested with getting really close to the surfaces of objects to reveal textures or one thing I really look forward to is using staged lighting focused onto and through clear things like glass cups or crystals to see all the ways the light reflects inside all up close like.

I'd like to spend less than $500 if possible, and would also like if the camera could record video as I have some other ideas for that as well.

Good luck...the lens will cost you a good $500. Any DSLR will be capable. If you buy all used you could pick up a used DSLR for 350-500, used lens for $350, flash for $200, other misc. $100. So you'd be hard pressed to shoot true macro for less than a grand...and that's with most stuff being used.