Macro Lens Differences 85mm vs 60mm

Aniretalek

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am a PhD student, focusing on marine biodiversity of benthic invertebrates. The university department is going to buy a Nikon D7000 (with a 18-105 lens) along with an Ikelite Housing and we need a macro lens in order to take close up photos of marine life.
The dealer that is going to provide the camera is recommending the AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR (AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR from Nikon because it does not require and extra Lens Extension for the Ikelite Housing, since it matches the one that fits the 18-105 lens.
A friend of mine, a semi-pro photographer, told me that it the 85mm is not appropriate and we should get the AF-S Micro Nikkor 60mm f/2.8G ED (AF-S Micro Nikkor 60mm f/2.8G ED from Nikon But this lens requires an extra extension and the total cost, goes over the available budget.

I would like to know, if there are any huge differences between the two lenses, keeping in mind that they are going to be used professionally. Instead, they only should be able to take decent close-up pictures of marine life.

Thank you in advance!!

I'd say go with the 85mm.

It fits your budget - does macro up to 1:1 magnification and fits the housing for the underwater case. The difference between f2.8 and f3.5 is very small so its not worth worrying about - esp as you might using additional supplemental lighting along with your shots and closing the aperture down so that you can get more depth of field over the subjects.

The other factor in photographing any critters that can move away from you is the lens-subject distance. This will be greater at longer focal lengths. For bugs and other small living things, at least a 100 mm lens is probably advisable. I know Canon has a 180 mm macro and I imagine Nikon has something similar - this would be worth considering.

I'd say go with the 85mm.
Thank you for your thoughts...I was thinking quite the same! :cool-48: