Macro Lenses

Hi! I'm a newbie here and I am also wondering about which macro lens to get. You see, way in the past I had a Minolta MD Rokkor-X Macro 50mm f3.5. I'm not sure if you guys are/were familiarized with this lens but (and excuse my ignorance), how does it compare with the MPE-E 65mm, if at all? You see, this was the only macro I had and I remember it was a challenge but I absolutely adored it until it got stolen.
[h=2][/h]

Alvarez - scroll back a page in this thread and have a read - several points are made specifically regarding the MPE lens and its suitability to macro photography for first timers or those just getting back into it.

Canon do make a regular 50mm macro lens, however it lacks "true" macro capabilities unless you also purchase its specific lifesize adaptor - at which point you've spent as much as several very good longer focal length options.

Sigma make a decent 50mm f2.8 macro which is true macro capable.

Personally I'd say 60mm macro options (or the 70mm from sigma) are better if you're looking to start general macro shooting, but not bugs. If you want bugs then Tamrons 90mm macro lens or longer focal length lenses are what I would advise.

MPE65mm I advise as getting later - get 1:1 magnification first, then look for going more with an existing lens to try it out (2:1 beyond are much much harder magnifications to work at).

Everyone seems to forget about the Tokina atx pro d 100mm f2.8 macro. I like it for macro and portraits. Built like a tank. In the end it depends on you the user. You can find one used from $350-400 or $425 new. If you can find one that is.

5798819335_3aa35662f6_z.jpg

5760613780_f19b6a2143_z.jpg

5760552224_ce6fae60e3_z.jpg

5760003219_2559721464_z.jpg

5313855174_173d649998_z.jpg

5798817231_0f0512f730_z.jpg