Makeshift lighting?

nealjpage

multi format master in a film geek package
Reaction score
Website
www.myspace.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Well, my work's finally having it's "employee appreciation" (Christmas) party this weekend. It's a murder mystery theme. Anyways, long story short, I got roped into doing "mug" shots. My only problem is that it's being held in a hotel banquet convention center. Those of you that've been to a place like that know about the lighting available. Well, I've got a hot-shoe mounted flash on my FE2, but no additional flash available.

Those of you that do pro work, how do you get by with a setup like this? Is there something I could bring along, like a construction light that'd shine on the subjects and mount it on a pole or something? I'm not even sure where to start on this. I've never done portraiture before.

Oh, I should say that I'll be using Efke 400 in my Nikon FE2, which is setup with a 50mm f/1.4 lens. I may also use my Bronica 645. I've got some 100 and 400 speed film for that one.

Mug shots shouldn't be hard to do. They are basically the most inartistic portrait shots you can do.

A hotshoe mounted flash should be fine...you might consider bouncing it off of the ceiling and using a bounce card to shoot some light forward.

You will want to have a clear white background, which shouldn't be too hard.

To top it off, maybe you could make up a card for them to hold...with a prison number or something on it.

Mug shots shouldn't be hard to do. They are basically the most inartistic portrait shots you can do.

A hotshoe mounted flash should be fine...you might consider bouncing it off of the ceiling and using a bounce card to shoot some light forward.

You will want to have a clear white background, which shouldn't be too hard.

To top it off, maybe you could make up a card for them to hold...with a prison number or something on it.

Exactly.