Manual Focus with sports-action photography

osumisan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
motionshooter.smugmug.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I have been shooting indoor and outdoor sports for a few years now. Always have used the auto focus with my D200 camera. As I get better, I get more frustrated wtih the limitations of the D200 auto focus mechanism. It seems that the real pros frequently shoot with or are adept at shooting in manual. Can someone enlighten me on good manual focus technique? I see to have issues knowing if my subject is in tact focus or not, even when looking through the viewfinder. Is that normal or am I missing an important element? In the past, I have shoot outdoor sports through chain linked fences when necessary and used manual for that. But in that senario, I prefocus on a position on the field and wait for the action to come there.

So for a fast sport like volleyball, can someone give me advice on a good method for using manual focus?

$060-DSC0068-X3.jpgThis was shot using my old, 85mm f/1.8 nikkor lens and D200 on auto focus mode. Would like to be adept at shooting this in manual as well.

Thanks for any help,
Jon

hum ... I'll assume the other way. Use autofocus instead of manual focus. The only thing I can think of using manual focus is you pre focus to a reference point with aperture set to how you want the DoF to be and wait until the subject enter the frame.

Last edited:
Don't bother. Modern digital cameras (and yes the D200 is one) have good auto-focus mechanisms. Granted the D200's isn't quite up to say, the D4, BUT it's still quite capable. The problem with manual focus is that the viewfinders are dim (especially on a DX body) and they have no split-screen or other way to verify critical focus through the viewfinder.