Markup on Cameras anyone know?

eravedesigns

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Ok so I have some buddies who work at Bestbuy who can hook me up most likely with the a700 but I am wondering if anyone knows what the price is on the body at cost?

If no one knows what the a700 markup is/ cost price then just in general how much do you think cameras are marked up?

I know best buy employee's get something like 5% above what Best Buy paid for it. For example, Monster HiDef cables which cost us $100 cost Best Buy employee's under $5. But, I work in retail, what is stated as the cost is usually 30 to 50% less than the retail cost.

There is little markup on photography gear in general if you shop around for a good deal.

Well, the A700 body is selling at one place at $1499, another at $1399 and around Christmas at still another place at $1249 Canadian.

In American terms this means that a store selling the body at $1150 US would still be making a profit.

In comparison terms the Sony A350 with 14.2 megapixels as opposed to 12 megapixels on the A700 is selling for $850 Canadian body only.

skieur

Well, the A700 body is selling at one place at $1499, another at $1399 and around Christmas at still another place at $1249 Canadian.

In American terms this means that a store selling the body at $1150 US would still be making a profit.

I don't claim to be an expert on this.. but something seems off about this logic... Are you not ignoring the fact that tariffs and import fees etc.. are different between the US and Canada?

It is my understanding that camera store's profit margins are extremely small.... historically, camera shops made most of their money off the services they provide. Unfortunately the market changed but not the equation when digital became mainstream.