Me and My Canon: C & C Please!

bp4life71

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Weather cleared up and was able to take some some scenery pictures. Just bought my camera a few days ago and I am a complete rookie. I'm posting some photos to see what you think. C and C is welcomed!

3933125408_37f386a635_b.jpg

3933125686_ea89b6a1f1.jpg

3932343973_aa95c85c1b_b.jpg

3932345833_a1b0d6c40d_b.jpg

3933127162_d46eef5097.jpg

All of these were taken with my canon xs. I love my new hobby, working with the creative modes.....no automatic for me anymore. I am liking the control you have over the outcome of the pictures. The last photo has some photoshop to it...but just the sky. It was a little too white for my liking so I spruced it up a bit. Just started using photoshop this week also!

Thanks for looking!

Last edited:
Nice photos! #1, 2 and 4 are my favorites. The other two don't grab my attention. #3, something is off composition wise,my eye doesn't know which tree to look at, and the funky leaves at the top of the left one are where I land. I wish I had advice on better composition, but I don't. Im still learning in that area! Over all, very nice shots! Keep it up!

Thanks for looking! I have done so much reading on taking photos in hopes that eventually i'll take alot better shots. Truth be told, I probably snap an average of 25 pictures for every picture I deem "good". Glad its not film photography or I'd go broke!

Yes Sir I am. I have bought books, done alot of web reading, and generally spending alot of time learning about photography. Before last week, I didn't even know what a dslr was. All I ever owned was little point and shoots that I hardly ever used. This will never be a business though, this is simply for fun and I'm enjoying it. Now I just need to add some extra lenses! I am digging the kit lense for now though, it is doing everything I have tried so far.