Megapixels and Lens hood

0ptics

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello,

So I'm a beginner to photography and I was wondering does megapixel on a camera affect the IQ that much? For an example, I'm planning to purchase a bridge camera and the Canon sx40 hs has 12.1 mp, vs the Sony HV100x which has 16.2 mp. Does this mean the Sony HV100X will have much better IQ than the Canon?

Also do lens hood affect the lighting that much on cameras? On Canon's website you're able to purchase a lens hood (~$25) on the superzoom Canon sx40 hs, even though it's not a DSLR, will the lens hood be necessary for this camera or any other superzoom bridge?

Thanks!
-0ptics

Here's a thing about resolution I just posted in another thread:

"Once you get past 8 or 10 or so, more megapixels only really matter if you're going to be doing large prints at high resolution, or if you're going to be cropping off a substantial portion of the captured image. If you're cropping, that's sort of the quick and dirty way around, and you should really just have a longer lens. If you need the resolution for printing, there is absolutely no substitute. Professionals with high resolution print requirements often use medium format cameras with 50 or 80 or more megapixels. The highest quality, most expensive computer monitors are only 4 megapixel, and the more common "high resolution" monitors that come with high end computers are only 2.3. So, if your images will be most often viewed on a computer monitor, additional resolution beyond twice the resolution of the display will make no difference. Up to twice the resolution, and you may see evidence of the anti-aliasing filter in front of the sensor. If you're printing, this is a really good article on how much real estate you can get out of your sensor: How Big Can I Print by Thom Hogan"