Minolta XG7 & Topcon RE 2

TonyG

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I bought these 2 cameras for $5 today. The guy told me they were his dads and they had been sitting in the closet because his father gave them to him after he went to digital, he knew nothing about cameras. They both have lenses on them. However, I am not sure if they work or not or how to even tell. I am completely new to this. They both have on and off switches but it does not do anything. Does anyone know where I can find batteries for these models or give me some instruction. I have been doing searches online but everything seems to be directing me towards the digital models. Thanks in advance.

Tony

I bought these 2 cameras for $5 today. The guy told me they were his dads and they had been sitting in the closet because his father gave them to him after he went to digital, he knew nothing about cameras. They both have lenses on them. However, I am not sure if they work or not or how to even tell. I am completely new to this. They both have on and off switches but it does not do anything. Does anyone know where I can find batteries for these models or give me some instruction. I have been doing searches online but everything seems to be directing me towards the digital models. Thanks in advance.

Tony
I don't know Topcons, but the Minolta take takes a pair of 1.55 volt S 76 silver oxide button batteries available at camera stores. A 76 (alkalines) may also work, but they are 1.5 volts, which may throw the meter off a hair.

the Minolta has a Rokkor-X 50mm 1:1.7 and the Topcon has an REAuto-Topcor 1: 1.8 f= 5.8cm (the lens cap has 49mm on it.