Model Release Form

Dreamergirl

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm just starting out and want to take some shots of some of some aquaintences from back home and prospective clients (my neighbors, co-workers, realtor, etc.) I would like to use those photos for my portfolio and, hopefully, my own website someday. How do I word a model release form? Does anyone have a form I could go by or look at? Or, what needs to be mentioned in a model release form?

I may be wrong here, but I thought if you took the picture the print was yours to use?

I would be interested in what is needed for this as well......

NYIP - Model Release Form - A Basic Model Release Form for Use in Photography Sessions and Photo Shoots

That's as basic as you get. Calumet (calumetphoto.com) has purchasable pre-printed cards.

I may be wrong here, but I thought if you took the picture the print was yours to use?

I would be interested in what is needed for this as well......

Depending on where you live and what you intend to do with the photos determines what types of permissions you need.

I can't find it right now but this topic came up here a few weeks ago and someone posted a link to a very large article about the legal stuff surrounding a photography business. Perhaps someone can find the link because I can't at the moment.

I do know that in the US if you use someone's image for advertising that you require a release and if they appear to be endorsing a product directly, that release is even more essential. I've always been fuzzy on whether portraits and the ilk need a release if they're in your portfolio (and whether a portfolio constitutes 'advertising'). I'm still searching for the answer to that.

For purely a portfolio a MRF isn't needed. BUT should be done because what's in your portfolio may become usefull in the future.