Mont Blanc pen

Jazz

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
With your excellent thread on fountain pens, you guys inspired me to shoot our Agatha Christie pen, so thanks for that!

This was shot with a Nikon 2.8 60mm lens, at f25 in our new light tent. I'd be most grateful if you have time to critique these shots, as I'm new to this kind of photography.

Cheers, Jazz

125963868-L.jpg

125788858-L.jpg

I think the background distracts the eye from the pen in the first shot. I would crop it heavily. Everything else about the shot is good. The second shot has the old dof problem. The upper and lower edges of the top of the cap are soft. You probably need just another f stop to extend dof a little. The background going out of focus beyond the pen is not a problem. Just the pen itself. The composition of the second shot is very good and better than the first. It is a lovely pen.

Fred - Thanks for taking the time to comment, I appreciate it.

So perhaps a simpler background on the first, okay, good. And better composition, yes.

On the second one, I've only got 2/3 of a stop left (I shot at f25) as this lens goes to f32, but something stopped me from stopping all the way down, and now I can't remember why. Isn't there some reason you're not supposed to crank the aperture all the way down? Doesn't some kind of distortion happen at maximum aperture? I think I remember reading that somewhere.

Regardless, I guess I could increase the shooting distance and gain more dof that way.

Fred - Thanks for taking the time to comment, I appreciate it.

So perhaps a simpler background on the first, okay, good. And better composition, yes.