Motorbike Stunt Show Photography

SteveEllis

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi Guys,

I'm an officer of a motorbike club, as such I do their website and this year I'll be doing all of their festival photography. There is going to be a stunt show this year and I really want to take some awesome pics of it. Any tips are greatfully recieved.

Heres the stunt riders website http://www.davecoates.co.uk/
Check out his gallery to see his stunts.

If any of you are bikers you may be interested in our festival, its the 4th - 7th August in South Wales.

Check out our site www.freestyleriders.co.uk

Cheers guys,
Steve.

I'd try to get alot of pictures of people doing jumps and airborne tricks. I'd use a long lens, and try to get in front of them so they're comming at you.

Hmm… I would invite the local chapter of the Hell’s Angels, and photograph their facial expressions as they watch the show! :mrgreen:

Two very awesome ideas but I dont know if I'm brave enough to take photos of the HA and post them all over the internet :lol:

The bike is a road bike so no jumps, just burn outs, stoppies, wheelies and general antics.

I think I'll have a word with the stunt rider first to find out where I can be thats safe but awesome for shots.

Any of you guys bikers?

Yeah, I ride.

You can get a good long lens and do a racing shot where you pan the lens along as the rider passes in front of you. Seeing as you will have busy backgrounds and his outfit/bike is pretty busy too, you're going to want to blur the background. This requires you to shoot with a smaller aperture and a longer exposure time. You will need to practice this technique A LOT, so go stand on a relatively busy street corner and try this with cars going past. This will also allow you to decide how big and aperature vs. shutter speed to get a relatively clear focused shot of the rider while blurring the background.