Multiple off camera flashes - IR

mrmills4

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey gang, I'm pretty new to photography. I think I have a grasp on the basic's of how to use my camera and composing a shot, but I feel like I need a little schooling in lighting tech and gear. I've been lucky enough to have a chance to do some product photography and found out how much easier I'd be if I had 2 or more off camera speedlights. I have a Canon 60D with built in IR, but I don't know the best way to use multiple flashes. I don't really understand why I have to use a master flash attached to my camera or the built in flash in order to trigger another off camera flash. Im planning on getting a Canon 530EX as my main flash, but could I use less the less expensive 430EX as the slaves? Or even a 270EX on the hot-shoe and a couple 530EX's or 430EX's? Basically I'd like to know what my options are.

Thanks, hope I don't come off like a total doof! :|

Yes, you can use the 430's as the slaves. Or even the Sigma 610DG Super can work as a master with your camera or the 610DG ST can work as the slaves and save you a bit of $. The 580EX II is the one you'll want if that is the way you are going. The 430's could be either the I or II model for using as a slave.
David Hobby (The Strobist Strobist) has some off brand that is supposed to be an outstanding option that he recommends for the secondary flashes. His website will get you a long way in learning to use them off camera. Start with the right hand side drop downs and the 101 archive.
Neil Van Niekerk has 2 awesome books for using speedlights also.

Last edited:
If your shooting OCF you don't want to be using a flash on camera, get some cheap triggers, a flash on your camera will flatten the effect of your off camera flashes