My first shoot with my first studio setup (comment please :D)

Hrern1313

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Im fairly new to the site so please bear with me
smiley.gif

I invested in a basic portable studio setup a couple of days ago after having quite a bit of intrest from friends and aquaintanced about shoots, and convinced a friend to come along and do some vague modelling whilst I familiarised myself with it. This is my very first try at studio shots so and criticism, could it please be constructive haha (if you think something is wrong or dont like something please tell me why so i can get better
smiley.gif
) Ive also experiemented with some editing, more on some than others.

DSC01697copycopy.jpg

DSC01687copycopy.jpg

DSC01700copycopy.jpg

Last edited:
second is very fine..third too is a cool one....in first u shd have setup the light so her both eyes have catchlights...is it not odd...?

A decent first try with some practice and experience you will be kicking out quality portraits before you know it. Since this was a shake out shoot I will not touch on the posing other then to say that the pose is as crucial to a portrait as the lighting. If the pose does not flatter the model it does not matter how well lit the image is the subject will not like the image.

#1 You should make a choice to shoot for either High Key or Midkey, the graduated exposer of the background draws attention away from the model and leaves the viewer with the feeling that the BG is not properly lit and exposed.

Pull the model a little further off the background to prevent your key light form striking the bg and creating the circle of over exposure camera right and the hard shadow camera left.

The catch lights are in both eyes but clone the smaller catechlight out of both eyes, one brings life to an image but 2 catchlights in the eye only bring confusion.