My next step in becoming a better photographer?

tank121

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm quite new to photography and done a couple of weekend courses. I have a basic understanding of the exposure triangle etc and have recently purchased Bryan Peterson's Understanding Exposure and Learning to See Creatively ( not read them yet).

I'm shooting with the Nikon d5100 and own the 35mm prime and 55-200mm, below is my Flickr link and the recent landscape shots were taken with a hired 16-85mm (nice lens).

Flickr: GigsandGadgets.com's Photostream

I know I need to get out shooting again, practice, practice, practice but was wondering if the below college course would be beneficial or to just get stuck into the two books and more practice?

[h=2]ABC Level 1 Award in Art, Design and Creative Studies (Photography)[/h]
Macclesfield College - Adult Learners - Course Search Results

Thanks in advance.

I seriously doubt anybody can answer this question for you, except YOU. It just all depends on what kind of learner you are and what the class is like (which none of us would really know unless we'd taken it).

My sister has taken several of the courses offered at our local university and found them to be extremely helpful, but she really *needs* that kind of learning environment to help her figure things out.
For me, I would just MUCH rather spend that money on photography gear than on a class.

A good next step is ALWAYS to go look at a bunch of pictures. Try to figure out why they work or don't work.

Look at the relationship of tonal values: squint at the picture so it's blurry and look just at the masses. Or make a copy of it with a pencil, simply shading the larger areas with an approximation of the tonal value to get
a sort of large-scale "tone map" of the picture to examine.

Look at the relationships of objects and lines: lines of gaze and actual lines, objects and spaces between objects, and groupings of objects or visual masses in the frame